Thursday, July 15

Book Overview: Deuteronomy

The Book of Deuteronomy is a 34-Chapter Review of the Journey of Israel, and of the life of Moses. It is the end of the Life of Moses, and it includes his death, as well as Joshua becoming the new leader of Israel. (Pictured is Mt. Nebo, where Moses died.)

This is the fifth Book Overview in a series of 66 Books. These overviews, as previously stated, do not interfere with the regular lessons, but these are written so that it may provide readers with details about the book, things that they may have missed, and will hopefully peak your interest so that you will read the book, the entire Bible, in fact, as God wants us to do. Now, onto the Book of Deuteronomy.

Title: Deuteronomy (English), Devarim (Hebrew) It is called "Deuteronomy," which means, "Second Law," because in the book, Moses gives Israel the laws again, reviewing their journey.

Authorship: Moses. The last chapter in Deuteronomy, (Chapter 34) however, is written by Joshua - it tells of the death of Moses. Many have tried to disprove the authorship, but all signs point to Mosaic Authorship. It is accepted that Moses was the author of Genesis-Deuteronomy.

Written: Deuteronomy was probably written during the 40-Year Period that Israel wandered in the desert. This book, like Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Job, was written sometime between 1400s-1200s BC, if the dates in 1st Kings are to be taken literally.

Summary: "Deuteronomy was to remind the Israelites of what God had done for them, and it was to encourage them to devote their lives to him. Deuteronomy reminds us that we should be thankful for what God has done for us, and that we should dedicate our lives to him." (NIV)

Overview: Chapters 1-4:43 are about Moses reviewing the Journey through the Desert. 
Chapters 4:44-28:68 are about: The Ten Commandments (Deuteronomy 5), the Law of God, and Instructions for the New Land - Canaan. 
Chapters 31-34 are the last words of Moses, and the conclusion of the first five books of the Bible, the Pentateuch. Deuteronomy 34:1-8 details the death of Moses, this was written by Joshua.

*Points -This book is set forty years after the Exodus from Egypt, while Israel is in the Moab Plains east of the Jordan River.

Moses gives three addresses: The Review of the Journey, (1-4:43) The Law, (4:44-28:26) and The Call to Commitment (29-30). 

Numbers 27:12-14 also tells of the Last Days of Moses. Moses was allowed to see the land he longed for so long to reach, and then died. 

The Ten Commandments, given in Deuteronomy 5, are also originally given in Exodus 20

"Do not remove your neighbor's boundary stone," God tells the people. The Boundary stones were stones used to record a gift of land, it is much like that of the boundary lines we have in effect today, but in those days, they used "Boundary Stones."

Moses died on Mount Nebo, which overlooks Canaan, the Promised Land. God promised Abraham that his descendants would one day reach the Promised Land, which is Canaan. The promise is fulfilled in Joshua, but Moses sees the Land in Deuteronomy 34, just before he dies.

God tells Israel that the gift of the land is a conditional, meaning that if the people continually fail to adhere to the law and moral standards that God has set, they can lose the right to live there and are allowed to be thrown out of the land. (Deuteronomy 4:27)

The Ceremonial Law introduced in Leviticus, carried on, re-stated in Deuteronomy, was in full effect until the NEW Covenant, which Jesus brought about through his death and resurrection. The Laws that are still in effect today (aside from the Ten Commandments, which never change) can be found in the Book of Hebrews. However, certain laws given in Leviticus regarding orientation and whether or not we should be able to mark our bodies are still in effect today.

Moses returned once more, more than 1,400 Years Later, on the Mount where Jesus had his Transfiguration. Moses, who was Israel's Law-Giver, and Elijah, the first great Prophet, both appeared and spoke with Jesus about his death. (Matthew 17, Mark 9:2-13, Luke 9:28-36, 2nd Peter 1:16-18)

Next Book Overview: Book of Joshua
Previous Book Overview: Book of Numbers

1 comment:

  1. Sometimes the truth hurts. And sometimes it feels real good. See the link below for more info.